Council of Trustees

Our trustees are a proven and trusted group of business and civic leaders whose talents and expertise have benefited companies and organizations of all kinds. Experienced community leaders, each member of the Horizon Funds of Northern Kentucky Council of Trustees has been selected for their strategic vision, reputations for fiscal responsibility, and dedication to philanthropic initiatives, both small- and large-scale. By charter, three quarters of our trustees are Northern Kentucky residents and all have a vested interest in serving this community. 

As our Council of Trustees grows, one of our goals is to create a diverse group of leaders who will ensure that all Northern Kentuckians are represented. We are actively recruiting members who can represent the many facets and interests of our varied communities.


Kit Andrews

Communications Specialist, Division Maintenance Group

Neighborhood: Newport

Rich Boehne

Board Chairman, Retired President and CEO, The E.W. Scripps Company

Neighborhood: Newport


Bill Butler

Chairman of Corporex Companies, LLC

Neighborhood: Covington

Garren Colvin Horizon Community Funds.jpg

Garren Colvin

President and CEO, St. Elizabeth Healthcare

Neighborhood: Crescent Springs

Crystal Faulkner

Partner with MCM CPAs & Advisors

Neighborhood: Hyde Park


Kim Halbauer

Senior Vice President and Investment Advisors Executive, Fifth Third Bank

Neighborhood: Ft. Thomas

Kris Knochelmann

Judge Executive, Kenton County

Neighborhood: Crescent Springs

Bob Kohlhepp

Retired Chief Executive Officer, Cintas

Neighborhood: Covington

Valerie Newell Horizon Community Funds.jpg

Valerie Newell

Chairman and Managing Director, Mariner Wealth Advisors

Neighborhood: Covington

R. Peterman_Trustees_Headshots.png

Roger Peterman

Managing Partner, Dinsmore & Shohl

Neighborhood: Ft. Thomas


Paul Sartori

Principal, Legacy Financial

Neighborhood: Crestview Hills

Chuck Scheper

Chairman, Bexion Pharmaceuticals

Neighborhood: Covington  


Mike Schlotman

Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, The Kroger Co.

Neighborhood: Ft. Mitchell


Chuck Session

Vice President, Government & Community Affairs, Duke Energy Kentucky

Neighborhood: Union

Paul Verst

President and Chief Executive Officer, Verst Group Logistics and Zenith Logistics

Neighborhood: Cold Spring

Jim Votruba

Retired President, Northern Kentucky University

Neighborhood: Lakeside Park

Mary Zalla

Global President for Consumer Brands, Landor

Neighborhood: Covington

Bob Zapp

Retired Chief Executive Officer, Bank of Kentucky

Neighborhood: Covington